3 Reasons Why I No Longer Watch Italian Television

Are we indeed the land of spaghetti and mandolin?

Turi Coppola
The Shortform
1 min readApr 17, 2024

--

Image generated by the author with DALL-E 3

I grew up watching television.

When I was a child, Italian television used to broadcast hilarious cartoons that made me happy.

Plus, in my 20s, I remember seeing a lot of interesting TV shows about rock music, travel abroad, history, and science.

Nowadays, none of those television programmes exist anymore.

I consider Italian television the poorest-quality content creator I’ve ever seen.

Here are 3 reasons that convinced me to turn it off forever:

1. Bad and fake news at every hour of the day.

2. Too many non-educational shows based on silly gossip.

3. A lot of cooking shows.

What is television like in your country? I hope it’s better than what we have in Italy.

Let me know what you think.

I’m a non-native English writer, and I’m striving to become a better one. Do you have any suggestions so that I can improve as a writer? Thank you.

--

--

Turi Coppola
The Shortform

Hi everyone! I'm Turi, an Italian who dreams of becoming a professional writer in English.