A Chocolate Milkshake Got Me Motivated

How a milkshake got me motivated again

Trudy Van Buskirk
The Shortform
Jul 15, 2023

--

chocolate milkshake
Photo by Pixzolo Photography on Unsplash

Exhilarated? Elated? Thankful to my brother? A sugar rush? A drink I really liked.

I was tired of having fluids after a tooth extraction two weeks ago. Cautiously, I didn’t have regular food yet because I take blood thinners, but I was bored with my diet of drinkable yogurt, fruit smoothies, Ensure meal replacements, and creamy soup.

Certainly, the liquid diet was self-imposed but enough is enough.

Then one evening my brother dropped by with a milkshake for me.

It was the best I’d ever had (I exaggerate.)

As I drank it, I felt like I was flying downhill on a toboggan. Or being on a plane for the first time.

The chocolate milkshake was the kick-start I needed to get me motivated again.

--

--

Trudy Van Buskirk
The Shortform

Self employed 40 years. Technology super user, smallbiz startup & marketing coach, writer- entrepreneurship, disability, aging. Time to share what I’ve learned.