365 Days in the Garden

A Day at the Museum

A haiku

Crystalclearcandace
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readJan 11, 2023

--

Lakeshore with Birches painting by Gustav Klimt (public domain) at the Van Gogh museum. Photo by author.

Birch trunks slice across
the dark soil and darker sky.
Sparkling flowers dance.

I miss writing haiku. I realized today that a haiku would be the perfect piece of poetry to write about my visit to the Van Gogh museum on the last day of the Gustav Klimt exhibit.

I’m writing about it in different styles and short-form pieces as part of my 365 Days in the Garden challenge to myself. This is my 10th piece. I am finding the freedom to explore bits of art through this daily practice has already taken me to explore art, poetry, childhood memories, and, of course, gardening.

This piece is about that visit to the museum.

I touch on a few things I learned about the artist.

That visit to the Klimt exhibit inspired this writing.

This Italian garden painting, and that museum trip with my family, take me back in time.

--

--

Crystalclearcandace
The Shortform

Writer, poet, gardener, life-long learner, warrior for children, lover of faerie, freedom, and joy. From a long line of badass women. She/her/hers