“A Romantic Partnership Isn’t a True Friendship “— Right or Wrong?

Some say a romantic partnership isn’t a true friendship. Marriage is contractual.

Kristina God, MBA
The Shortform

--

Image by svetlanasokolova on Freepik

The message in the media is that Americans are in a crisis.

A friendship crisis.

Friendships are becoming rarer in America.

The ideal number of close friends is around three or four.

Merriam-Webster says a “friend” is…

“one attached to another by affection or esteem.”

Today, 15% of young men report having no close friends.

Is this friendliness harmful?

Some say loneliness can be as harmful as smoking 15 cigarettes per day.

I have one close friend. My husband.

He’s my best friend, my soulmate, and my life companion.

The other day I told someone about this and she was like:

“What? Your romantic partnership isn’t a true friendship. Marriage is contractual!”

We’re friends in the raising-kids phase and therefore this relationship now has a special dynamic because we’re both somehow glued together through our two kids.

But why can’t my husband be my best friend?

--

--

Kristina God, MBA
The Shortform

Award-winning marketing manager I Bestselling Substack author I YouTuber⚡Join my Online Writing Club: https://kristinagod.substack.com