A Speechless Writer

Hopeful the words flow again

Nadja Scarlett
The Shortform

--

Photo by Sonia Remizua on Unsplash

I stopped writing in October 2022. Come November, I couldn’t get the words to flow anymore.

A clog without the gel of lubrication.

These circumstances are a writer’s nightmare — I was indifferent.

Lately, I feel a tug in my soul. A desire to write.

Who am I to dare attempt a restart?

There lies a resistance to returning after abandonment. The shame of unwritten words, the guilt of unexpressed creativity in my art of short fiction.

It’s difficult to acknowledge the truth. I stopped showing up. Will I allow disappointment to chip away at my heart and stop me from writing?

Haunted by not making better decisions. Psychological horror; because it’s frightening to face yourself.

When the choice is yours, yet; fear pulls you away from your intentions.

It takes courage.

I hope, I’m back now …

--

--

Nadja Scarlett
The Shortform

“Witchy, not wicked” | Hodgepodge of stories from spooky fiction to nonfiction, and ALOT in between with a mix of quirky for extra fun!