A Trip to the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam

Rembrandt and Vermeer and Van Gogh, Oh My!

Crystalclearcandace
The Shortform

--

The Night Watch by Rembrandt is being restored, and the process is being carried out while on public display—photo by Author.

Today is the 7th day of my August Amsterdam Adventure, and I went to the Rijksmuseum, the National Museum of the Netherlands. I had the opportunity to see the famous painting “The Night Watch,” which is undergoing restoration, a process being documented every step of the way. The Museum has published extensive information about it online.

I spent two hours looking at only a fraction of the work on exhibit and am looking forward to doing more of a deep dive this month into the art available to residents and tourists in the Netherlands. Today’s visit included works by Rembrandt, Vermeer, and Van Gogh, among many others.

I will be visiting the Van Gogh Museum later this month, as well as the Fabrique des Lumières exhibit of the Dutch Masters, and I will write a lot more about them. I will be keeping a travel log about my adventures here:

--

--

Crystalclearcandace
The Shortform

Writer, poet, gardener, life-long learner, warrior for children, lover of faerie, freedom, and joy. From a long line of badass women. She/her/hers