Agnes Walked In

The unsung heroine of misheard lyrics

Julie Borden
The Shortform

--

Photo by Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

Some commonly misheard lyrics have become classic:

“Hold Me Closer, Tony Danza.”

“Give me the Beach Boys and free my soul.”

“Excuse me while I kiss this guy.”

I have one that I just recently bothered to investigate. It’s from “Young Turks” by Rod Stewart, a song from the year I was thirteen.

I haven’t been constantly thinking about this song for the past forty-plus years. But I have heard it occasionally, and if I’d been inclined to sing along, it would have been with my version of the lyrics.

The line is, “Happiness was found in each other’s arms as expected.” That makes sense.

I heard: “Happiness was found in each other’s arms. Agnes walked in.”

Who did I think Agnes was?

Why did she walk in at such an intimate moment?

And then what happened?

--

--

Julie Borden
The Shortform

Social worker, therapist, reader, writer, head-in-the-clouds dreamer, awed by most everything. (She/her) Reach me at JulieBordenLCSW@gmail.com.