“All Writers Are Alcoholics”

Was my dad right?

Kristina God, MBA
The Shortform

--

photo credit: freepik

Besides the stereotypical ideas of how a writer should “dress”, there are other misconceptions.

When I told my father that I wanted to be a writer, he just stopped, looked me in the eye, shook his head and patted my thigh:

“No, you don’t want that!

“Why not?” I asked my father.

“Well, all writers are alcoholics.”

“Why would they be alcoholics when they can touch the lives of so many people?

“Hah,” he laughed.

“Do you believe that too?” he asked.

“Yes, I do!”

“You still have a lot to learn, my dear. Writers can’t make a living from writing. The competition is getting tougher and tougher. You have to endure it all.”

“Oh…” was all I could say in reply.

I did it anyway. I studied journalism.

Do you have to drink wine when you write, or do you know a writer who is an alcoholic?

--

--

Kristina God, MBA
The Shortform

Bestselling Substack writer I Marketing Expert I Top Writer I Helps you write, market and monetize your writing.⚡ Sign up: https://kristinagod.substack.com/