Ann Magnuson: My Madam Outré

A Taliswomen Short

Leah Welborn
The Shortform

--

Original artwork by the author

Thirty years ago, when I was a 19-year-old community college student, I was introduced to Ann Magnuson’s band, Bongwater. The cover of their 1990 album, The Power of Pussy, aggressively grabbed my attention when I was working at Sound Warehouse.

The cover of Bongwater’s 1990 album

It was salacious: Ann looking like a prehistoric snack, a la Raquel Welch. The letters of the title spelled out by nude women. I was intrigued.

Decades later, I’m reminded of that album’s lyrics by some random thing nearly every day.

Last year I discovered that my favorite clothing line, Matrushka, was collaborating with Ann.

Everything in my life must converge.

--

--

Leah Welborn
The Shortform

Empower Your Magical Self with me. I'm the Mystic Autistic, a writer and spiritual baddie. LeahWelborn.net.