Breaking Up (With Coffee ) Is Hard to Do

Wake me up before you grind-grind, I don’t wanna miss it when my caffeine hits that high

Jake FM
The Shortform
1 min readJul 10, 2024

--

Photo by Fabien Maurin on Unsplash

I never thought I’d betray coffee.

I’m not having an affair. It is an open relationship with tea now.

In my youth, I fell head over heels for coffee. It was more than love. Passion was hotter than molten lava.

I used to do it with Arabica at least three times a day. When I felt particularly naughty, I would get frisky with some Mandheling late into the evening, knowing how depleted I would feel the following day. No regrets.

I worshiped coffee, rejecting anything that did not smell, taste, and make me jitterbug like it.

Eventually, this abusive, co-dependent relationship led to me becoming pregnant with Java-Japonica beans.

Accumulative acidity finally took its toll, I had to do cold turkey.

I still struggle to resist my addiction whenever I catch a sniff of its aroma.

My brain goes a-bang-bang.

You never forget your first love.

--

--

Jake FM
The Shortform

Photo/videographer, language and science teacher, independent traveller, Austronesian Studies researcher, Aquarian, introvert, Taiwanophile, volcano climber