Breathtaking Expansion in ‘The Overstory’

Julie Borden
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Photo by Mike Meyers on Unsplash

Neelay is at the forefront of technology in the earliest days of the Internet. When he reflects back, his observations strike a chord in me, and I think most people my age will relate.

I distinctly remember the first time I heard about the concept of the Internet. It was 1994.

Being in my twenties at the dawn of the technology explosion, I got a taste of adulthood in the pre-online world, while I have now spent slightly more than half my life in current reality. That makes me the perfect demographic to remember “before,” but to also nearly forget what we ever did without cell phones.

Neelay’s thoughts on the matter:

“The Web goes from unimaginable to indispensable…”

“…there’s only the narrowest window of time in which to really see… before these things that never were turn into things that have always been.”

--

--

Julie Borden
The Shortform

Social worker, therapist, reader, writer, head-in-the-clouds dreamer, awed by most everything. (She/her) Reach me at JulieBordenLCSW@gmail.com.