Do not miss contests on submittable

#lessonlearnt: What you should know about deadlines

Hora
The Shortform
1 min readApr 8, 2022

--

photo by Hora

I missed a contest because of submittable :(
I had written a 100-word story. However, I did not submit it right away. I posted it first on Medium to get some feedback.

Most publications use submittable now. It is a platform that enables them to keep track of the submissions they receive. It contains basically all the information you need to know about the submission, and offers the option to search for all the available contests they host.

However, publications that use submittable still promote their contest rules on their own platform / website.

I had checked the deadline of the 100-word contest on submittable.

submittable: 01-Apr
publication’s website: 31-Mar

The takeaway:

the deadline that appears on submittable ends one day before!

In case you were wondering, this was the 100-word story:

photo by Hora

--

--

Hora
The Shortform

Surviving hell (long covid & co) made me think deeply about my life. I feel motivated to document my healing journey and share what I have learnt.