Do you write only answers? Do you ever write about your questions?

Sebastian Ruf
The Shortform
Published in
Feb 14, 2022

--

Photo by Analia Baggiano on Unsplash

Is there no proper audience for plays in a godless universe?

Must we invent our own gods?

Sarah Ruhl, 100 Essays I Don’t Have Time to Write

As a writer, there’s a temptation to think we need to have The Answers to write. This passage reminded me that a deeply held question can be as impactful as any answer.

Everyone has questions in their life, big and small.

Sharing ours is a wonderful way to humanize ourselves. To show readers that there is a person clacking away at the keyboard and remind ourselves of the same.

A few of my many questions:

When will I stop feeling so directionless? What am I having for dinner? How do I stretch properly? Who are the people that read my articles? Why am I awake?

What about you?

--

--

Sebastian Ruf
The Shortform

Insights from a life spent learning. Thoughts from my work (AI, complex systems), my hobbies (improv, tai chi), and whatever book I’m reading.