Fly your freak flag high and keep them glued to the page. Photo by Paolo Nicolello on Unsplash

Don’t Kid Yourself -Medium Is Social Media

I came here for the reading and stayed for the claps

Joe Dudak
Published in
1 min readApr 16, 2023

--

Medium’s the most comprehensive social journalism platform I know of. I stumbled upon Medium shortly after it launched in 2012, eventually becoming a paying reader.

Most of the writing is from independent pens. Wordsmiths craft ideas, write them down, and send them into the aether.

It’s in the stories we tell if you want to discover the quintessence of human connection. We send our story into the world when we post on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and beyond.

The greatest gift social media has given us is the ability to scale our story. We can share wearisome ramblings or our most engaging tales. Medium does this for writers. I love it. It is social media.

We take dopamine from Likes, Loves, Kudos, and Claps, but I won’t delude myself. Medium’s taken claps to another level by paying us to keep someone’s eyeballs on Medium.

Attention is the currency of social media.

--

--