Don’t Rush to Publish

Simmy
The Shortform
Published in
Jul 27, 2023

--

Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

I wish I had learned not to rush in clicking that tempting green button.

Publishing a new piece brings a sense of accomplishment and excitement, but it’s important not to overlook the other important responsibility of being a writer.

Editing.

If you want your work to shine, editing is crucial!

If you have a choice between publishing poorly edited work daily or posting one polished piece a week, always opt for polished work. You will learn more about the writing process as a whole if you prioritize quality over quantity.

Don’t get hung up on editing when writing your first draft, but do respect it as an essential part of the process.

If you’d like to support me as a writer, and you want unlimited access to all stories on Medium, please consider becoming a Medium member via my referral link here

--

--

Simmy
The Shortform

Hello there! My name is Simone, but you can call me Simmy.