Dreaming of Twos

Kathy Hopewell
The Shortform
Published in
Nov 15, 2022
Photo Reba Spike

In my dream were two dogs: one white, one brown. I have promised to take these dogs and throw them into the sea.

We walk along a road with overarching trees, high above a sandy beach. Both dogs are on long leads. I call to the white dog, unleash it and watch it trot obediently down the hill, then jump into the breakers and disappear under the water. But the brown dog is nowhere to be seen: the empty collar is lying in a pile of dried-up leaves. Although I’m sure I’ll get into trouble, I’m glad that the brown dog has escaped.

Waking up, I was convinced that to dream of two things and lose one of them was incredibly meaningful. But what did the dogs represent?

Have you dreamt of twos? Perhaps tonight you’ll dream of two dogs: one white, one brown.

--

--

Kathy Hopewell
The Shortform

I’m a novelist and first-time indie author who loves freewriting, Elbow and Virginia Woolf. I write about women surrealists at https://thefurcup.substack.com