Excuses Are Not Reasons

Barbara Mac
The Shortform
Published in
Jun 15, 2022

--

Yellow, red and black abstract: no excuses
Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

Have you ever wondered about the difference between an excuse and a reason?

Excuses

I haven’t written on Medium since February, but I have great excuses.

1. My computer blew up.

2. We had serious flooding.

3. Internet went down.

Reality:

  1. My computer didn’t really blow up, it just broke down and was soon fixed. I still had pen and paper.

There goes excuse number one.

2. Our region experienced serious flooding but our neighborhood was spared, only roads were closed. Really, it was a great opportunity to write.

Out with excuse number two.

3. The Internet went down, but only for ten days, and we don’t need it to write, only to publish

There goes excuse number three.

Great excuses? Maybe.

Good reasons not to write? No way!

And so I’m reminded, once again: an excuse is not a reason.

--

--

Barbara Mac
The Shortform

Exploring the human experience on this beautiful, fragile planet hurtling through the universe.