Feeling Overwhelmed By Emails? — Declare Email Bankruptcy

Artemis
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readJan 24, 2024

--

Photo by Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

Today, I declared email bankruptcy.

Do you plan to clear out your inbox, but then you have a thousand emails in there?

That was me.

I got to where I was instantly stressed simply by looking at the amount of messages I had. This was an overwhelming situation as I thought it was an insurmountable task to reach zero emails. However, I discovered email bankruptcy.

Email bankruptcy is when you delete everything in your inbox folder. However, I simply moved them to another folder. While deleting every email may work for some, I have emails which are essential to reply to scattered.

This allows me to slowly work through emails without being pressured by the number. This allows me to focus on the emails I am receiving now, rather than worrying about past emails and doing nothing.

Are you dealing with this issue? Maybe you should declare email bankruptcy too.

--

--

Artemis
The Shortform

Multipassionate, student, writer. | Image made with AI | My personal website is https://artemisw.neocities.org/