Fill the Pages of Your Life with Words and Bright-Colored Inks

Nikhil Rajagopalan
The Shortform
Published in
May 5, 2022

The power of words and a parting gift

Photo by Lawrence Aritao on Unsplash

4 years ago, a dear friend and colleague told me that he was going abroad for a new job. He’d always been eyeing my Lamy fountain pen, and I didn’t have enough money to buy him a new one as a farewell gift. So, on his last day, I wrote him an email and gifted him my pen. I ended with: “Let your story begin”.

Yesterday, we caught up over a video call. Before we hung up, he caught me off guard and read me back that email, and showed the pen on camera. That’s the power of words, of copy. It creates bonds and strengthens them over time.

4 years and counting.

--

--

Nikhil Rajagopalan
The Shortform

Medical writer in Toronto. Communicating serious science simply. Buy me a coffee if you’d like: https://ko-fi.com/nikhilrajagopalan