Finding Flow Through Perseverance

Sarika S
The Shortform
Published in
May 22, 2024
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I recently read a quote by Julie Andrews: “Perseverance is failing 19 times and succeeding the 20th.”

It made an impression on me and made me reflect. It can apply to anyone’s life, and I relate to it. I remember the times when I was clueless. I wanted to do something creative but felt stuck. I lacked confidence and struggled with loneliness.

Among these feelings, I started writing poems. Initially, I struggled, but some force inside pushed me to go on and not get disheartened. I kept writing and eventually found a flow. Drafting a higher quantity of poems also brought more quality to my writing.

The feeling of being a creative person is fantastic. Had I stopped writing, I would have missed experiencing that. Persevering has helped me focus my abilities on building my collection of poems. That’s been worth all the struggle.

--

--