BETTER LIVING

Forgiving Yourself Is a Gift of Understanding

T. M. Watson
The Shortform
1 min readMay 16, 2024

--

man in knit cap in grayscale photo
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

Mistakes are always forgivable, if one has the courage to admit them.

- Bruce Lee

I used to be haunted by regrets over my past mistakes and poor choices.

And imprisoned by shame and self-judgment.

Although realizing, at the time, I was doing the best I could with the mindset, knowledge, and circumstances I had.

My reasons seemed legitimate, though now I recognize the flaws.

I explored and tried to understand why I made those decisions…

And, I can now forgive my former self and quit judging past events that will never be repeated.

No longer shackled to the past, my mind is open to living with more confidence and more clarity.

Life is too precious to be laden with self-criticism.

I think all of us have this inner clarity…

And we must nurture it with self-forgiveness.

--

--

T. M. Watson
The Shortform

Writer, author, researcher on self-preservation. I love good coffee & meaningful, heartfelt conversation. Buy me a coffee@ https://ko-fi.com/tmwatson