From 3-Hour Editing Time to Error-Free Article

I forgot to learn from my mistakes

Writer's Dream
The Shortform
1 min readJul 28, 2024

--

It took me 3 hours to edit a 1000-word article.

Result?

  • I felt demotivated to write and publish
  • I wanted to give up writing

So, then I started analyzing the mistakes while editing. I made a list of the basic editing errors in my content.

While writing an article, I write consciously to avoid common editing mistakes.

Here are a few other techniques that helped me to write content with minimal editing effort.

I break the long-form content into multiple pieces and edit 150–200 words instead of targetting 1000 words in one go.

While writing, I try to be cautious to avoid common mistakes like passive voice.

Instead of editing while writing, I batch edit. It does not hamper my writing speed.

If you want to minimize your time and effort in editing, click here for a free self-editing checklist.

--

--