HAIKU | PARTICIPATIVE ART | SHORTFORM

Haiku: Fans for Pharaoh

Do you have a haiku for this moment? Add it as a comment!

Ron & Roxanne Steed
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readAug 31, 2022

--

sulfer-shelf mushrooms -
fashioned like fans for pharaoh
to freshen the woods

Photo of a lovely mass of Chicken-in-the-Woods on a hike in Mystic, CT.
I stumbled on this lovely mass of Chicken-in-the-Woods (sulfer shelf) on a hike in Mystic, CT. Looks at those beautiful brackets of deliciousness! Their shape reminded me of the fans held by pharoah’s attendents, and I imagined these fans cooling the woods on a hot summer day. Photo by Ron Steed

Regarding foraging mushrooms; I don’t. As a hobby, mushroom hunting and foraging seem wonderful to me… there are so many beauties out there. I am still a pre-beginner however BECAUSE I haven’t hooked up with an expert yet. My sense is that, for foraging, there is no substitute for the guidance of an expert.

While there are delicious morsels of goodness out there (like these Chicken in the Woods), there are ALSO deadly mushroom that will certainly kill you if eaten, and in particularly nasty and irreversible ways! Many of them look a lot like eatable ones.

My recommendation; GO WITH an expert in the field when you go foraging!

--

--

Ron & Roxanne Steed
The Shortform

Ron writes lyrical heart-stories that are spiritual, simple, and artful. Roxanne paints watercolor. Resident Artists-Chateau Orquevaux, 6x TW, Episcopal Deacon