Hidden Delight

I won’t hesitate to do it all over

Lipika Agrawal
The Shortform
1 min readOct 15, 2023

--

Photo by Anna Kumpan on Unsplash

There is a certain delight in doing something forbidden. A forbidden kiss, a forbidden drink, is infinitely more pleasurable when satiated secretly.

The urge to have a midnight drink, knowing fully well, its consequences on my body, is greatly undeniable.

A complete bliss is enjoying the moment, completely my own, even though pain is now inevitable due to my lack of insight.

We are not very good at empathizing with our future selves, are we?

The same drink that tastes ordinary in the daytime, is amazingly delicious at night. And the moment it’s savored could last forever.

Yet, it comes to an end, and when my head is heavy, I know the pain is about to begin.

But I still have a savory bitterness on my tongue, and when another night comes, I won’t hesitate to do it all over. Be in bliss, then in pain, over and over again.

--

--

Lipika Agrawal
The Shortform

Storyteller | Poet | A grain of sand in the universe