Hiking Calm

Fresh air soothes the soul

Erik S. Meyers
The Shortform

--

Beautiful view on my hike (photo by author)

The weather has finally turned warmer and springlike and I took the opportunity yesterday for another lovely hike in the forested region outside Vienna known as Wienerwald (Vienna Forest).

The rain in the morning had gone and I was left with sun and blue sky and wonderfully fresh air. It’s not that far from where I live near Vienna center but you feel like you are in another world of rural bliss.

I was at one of my favorite hiking spots at Sulzer Höhe. I climbed a small hill and headed into the woods. Since it was a regular working day that I had off, there was no one else about. I took deep breaths, marveled at the buds on the trees and listened to all the life in the forest waking up to spring.

Ah heaven!

For more on me and my writing, check out my website!

--

--

Erik S. Meyers
The Shortform

American abroad in Vienna | Award-winning author/communicator | Motto: fight the hype | Survive on coffee/hiking | https://www.erikmey.com