How Are You Tuning In?

A lesson in Mastery.

Krithika Srinivasan
The Shortform
May 11, 2023

--

Old Panasonic FM Radio

When I think about my grandfather, I am listening to the FM radio with him on a beautiful summer evening, with the sun gently retiring and crows heading home.

My grandfather contracted Parkinson’s and he could no longer turn the knobs. So it was my job to switch between two of his favorite stations.

I guess they were 7 frequencies apart and I had to do it in time for the 6 pm news. I vividly remember how I would do it though.

If you take 100.5 FM, I would rotate the knob really fast to reach the 100. Then slow down to reach 100.5. Because otherwise you would miss the station and hear a lot of static.

And that’s exactly how you learn a new skill.

Get the basics right fast. Then work on the fine-tuning.

--

--

Krithika Srinivasan
The Shortform

Edutech Entrepreneur, Executive Coach, Woman Leader| Vegan lifestyle advocate |User of the Oxford Comma | Warming to Medium