How Do I Meet Caregiver Challenges?

With Gratitude One Day at a Time

Billie Short
The Shortform
1 min readJan 5, 2023

--

Photo by Simon Kadula on Unsplash

To the theme from Cops, I sing…

“Caregiver. Caregiver. What you gonna do? What you gonna do when sick Emily is home with you?”

My daughter, Emily, is 22. Her adult program is only ½ day. Time away from home is limited. I fill each moment with tasks that are difficult to do while caring for her. Winter break, illness, and appointments for her chip away at that time.

As I wipe her nose and reschedule my day, I feel calm, even light. My mood is not altered, and I am happy enough to change the words of catchy tunes to help entertain her (and myself) while she is home.

Today, I meet my challenges with gratitude. I’m grateful that I am physically and mentally able to care for her. I have money to pay my bills and a flexible schedule. May I greet each day with gratitude.

--

--