How to kill a Mosquito.

Blink and you miss it.

Okwywrites
The Shortform
Jan 28, 2023

--

Skyler Ewing. Pexels.com

It sees me. I know it does. Cheeky little bastard. It enjoys this power it wields over us all- the terror of its presence. Able to keep everyone at alert.

“All eyes on me” It announces. In that tiny yet unmistakable buzz.

What is that riddle we tell in Africa about mosquitoes?

Everyone hates me but when I appear, they all start clapping.

What is that African proverb about my power?

“If you think you are too small to make a difference you haven’t spent a night with a mosquito.”

So how do you kill a mosquito?

Be quicker.

Kpai!

That is your clap- landing quicker than the next move of a mosquito.

--

--

Okwywrites
The Shortform

Non-quitter. Writer. Speaker. Too tired for bullshit. Say Hi