How To Make a Cup of Indian Filter Coffee Abroad

Nikhil Rajagopalan
The Shortform
Published in
Feb 18, 2022

Filter coffee (kaapi) is a BIG deal in South India. It forms the bedrock of our mornings and our social interactions. Add coffee powder to a unique, perforated metal cylinder and pour hot water. A thick decoction collects overnight. Add hot, frothed milk and serve as an accompaniment to breakfast.

I was feeling homesick and needed a quick fix. So, I got a carton of 2% milk, a double espresso from Tim Hortons, and made a faux filter coffee.

Double espresso and frothed milk. Not quite the real deal, but close enough! Pic credit: Author’s own.

It’s not the real McCoy, but on a gloomy day in Toronto, it’s a close enough approximation. I’m sipping on my creation and listening to the pitter-patter of rain on my front porch.

Have you tried filter kaapi?

--

--

Nikhil Rajagopalan
The Shortform

Medical writer in Toronto. Communicating serious science simply. Buy me a coffee if you’d like: https://ko-fi.com/nikhilrajagopalan