Humpty Dumpty Sat On A Wall

Sowmini
The Shortform
Published in
Feb 22, 2024
Photo by Margaret Jaszowska in Unsplash

I am Humpty Dumpty.

I had a great fall early on in life. I was too fragile and naïve to handle it. All the forces in the world could not put me together again. I am not sure if they even tried.

Solitude was my sole companion. Silence was the only sound that echoed around me. Sorrow was the only feeling in the heart.

Years went by.

Life moved on.

I rose from the ashes and rebuilt myself.

I am thirty years older now. I still keep falling. But I get up and keep going; with sorrow in my heart, silence around me, and solitude my sole companion.

Resilience is a magical power. But resilience has a shelf life. Its battery depletes over time.

I am Humpty Dumpty.

I am tired.

I no longer want to sit on the wall.

--

--

Sowmini
The Shortform

An aspiring writer and stand up comedian. I write to break free from the monotony of life. I find solace in words.