I Don’t Drink This Merde

Karen Kenny
The Shortform
Published in
Jan 28, 2024
Image generated https://labs.openai.com/s/bclgS5hRBDCJQMkbKBrQjW7R

One evening, shortly after the year’s Beaujolais Nouveau came out, I took my sister to dinner at a lovely café near my apartment in Paris.

We ordered a bottle.

Yikes, not a good year.

I decided to take the half-empty bottle home; I could use it for cooking. As we left we saw a ragged, ruffled man sitting on the sidewalk, smiling at us. He seemed pleasant enough. I gave him our bottle of wine.

As we walked away, he yelled at us in French…

MADAME! MADAME! I don’t drink this crap” and threw the still half-empty bottle at us, spiraling, the red liquid spewing.

Crash. He missed. Clearly that year’s Beaujolais was indeed undrinkable.

--

--

Karen Kenny
The Shortform

From New York, residing in Paris. Using minimum amount of words to tell a story or poem.