I Use Shortform To Overcome Anxiety

And keep writing.

Maria Valevsky
The Shortform
Sep 8, 2021

--

Photo by Dazzle Jam from Pexels

“Calm down. You know it’s not writer’s block. You’re just scared”

When I’m feeling anxious, I turn to shortform. Both genre and publication.
Shortform helps me to find my writing groove when I am overwhelmed. It shows me there is always a place for my writing, even when I can’t produce a 2,000 words story.

Shortform reminds us that you can always write 150 words. About the weather outside your window. About a restaurant you love. Or about writing 150 words.

Shortform is my true savior. I don’t do it for the sake of publishing every day. I do it because shortform is fun. It’s a mini-story that requires only a couple of minutes but stays with your reader. It makes them think or feel something. It makes an impact.
Even if it’s a small one.

--

--

Maria Valevsky
The Shortform

Writer | Exploring the Worlds of Mental Health, Culture & Media | Twitter/Instagram @mariavalevsky