I Work In Toxic Environment

And let me tell you, it isn’t fun

Dominic DiFrancesco
The Shortform

--

Photo by OPPO Find X5 Pro on Unsplash

What is someone to do when their work environment becomes toxic?

That’s the environment I’m working in.

Co-workers that I consider friends have turned negative about everything our new owners are doing. They’re almost unbearable to be around anymore.

Needless to say, I’m concerned.

Concerned not for me, but for them.

I’ve separated myself from my co-workers except when dealing with business matters. I refuse to join in their misery.

I keep smiling and emitting a positive attitude in the hopes that some of this will rub off on my co-workers — we’ll see.

I’m not sure what else I can do. I’ve been through acquisitions before and things are better in this one than any previous one I’ve endured.

With them taking everything personally, I worry they are dooming themselves to fail.

It’s sad.

--

--

Dominic DiFrancesco
The Shortform

I’m a life-long writer & tech nerd. I love blogging, writing poetry, and short stories. My website https://domdifrancesco.com