When I Choose My 5 Tags/Topics on Medium, I Look at This List

This is how you tag your story on Medium to get more views, reads and followers.

Yana G.Y.
The Shortform
Published in
2 min readMar 7, 2024

--

Not a member? Read this here.

young woman with clothes full body shot, being pleasantly surprised, and hugely relieved, opened hands, head lifted up
Image Created by Author using Midjourney

When you’re new to Medium, you create your account, and right after you have to choose topics you’re interested in.

Today I tested it again with another one of my emails.
I got this screen:

Screenshot by Author from own account

I got an a-ha moment!
It’s the tags you add in your Medium stories when you publish!

So next time I choose tags I make sure I choose at least one or two from this list.

Why?

  • Because they are in the top list of Medium
  • They get me more views, reads and follows

The extended list (when you scroll):

Screenshot by author of own account
Screenshot by author of own account

Now I understand why top 5 interests of Medium users are these!

Thanks for reading!

Yana

👉 DOWNLOAD my FREE Writing Tools I use to make consistent money online.

--

--

Yana G.Y.
The Shortform

Chartered Marketer | Coach | Leader | Woman in Tech | AI Enthusiast | Writer | Chief Editor@CREATIVETECH Pubs | Grow your Substack with me: https://yana-g-y.com