Is It Fair To Call Baby Boomers “Entitled”?

Or does it depend on how we view entitlement?

Mary Anne Hahn
The Shortform

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

One of my Millennial friends referred to Baby Boomers as “entitled” …again.

My friend used the example of his parents. They wanted a puppy, so they went out and got one — without consulting their grown children.

His argument was that one of their kids will have to adopt the dog if it outlives their parents. He felt that his parents, like many Boomers, felt entitled to get anything they wanted, period, regardless of possible consequences or impact on others.

This time I challenged him.

“That’s not how I view entitlement,” I said. “To me, entitlement means people feeling that they have a right to whatever they want without having to work for it. Like many Boomers, I started working in my teens for my own money and worked an additional 50 years before I retired. I feel I have earned anything I do or buy now.”

Thoughts?

Related post:

--

--

Mary Anne Hahn
The Shortform

Baby Boomer who writes to inspire and connect with others.