It’s Okay if You Seesaw Over Time

Vaibhav Gupta
The Shortform
Published in
Nov 15, 2021
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

This entire year has been a difficult slew of health issues as I deal with a fresh wave of depression. Interests became draining as they became obligations instead of escapes. For a while, I just existed, and I felt guilty for it.

Recently, I’ve started enjoying world-building for D&D again, as well as slowly getting back into fitness. Days seem to blend together, but I find a couple of hours to put into creating instead of mindlessly consuming YouTube for 7 hours a day.

If I drop the habit again in a few weeks, that’s okay. Taking care of mental health means letting go of the guilt of productivity sometimes. If you guilt yourself over not being as good as you once were, consider this a sign to be nice to yourself. Have a nice day.

--

--

Vaibhav Gupta
The Shortform

Professional technical writer, 2x Distinguished Toastmaster. I write about mental health and self-awareness. Also see https://medium.com/thorough-and-unkempt