Joey Soloway: Trans-TalisPerson

A Taliswoman Short

Leah Welborn
The Shortform

--

Original image by the author (Joey Soloway image via Creative Commons)

Joey Soloway is one of my Taliswomen who’s come much later in my life, along with my widening ideas about womanhood.

I came to know Joey (then Jill) Soloway through Transparent, the show they created. I credit that show with helping me understand so much that I’d simply never considered before about sex and the construct of gender.

But it was their memoir, She Wants It: Desire, Power, and Toppling the Patriarchy, that cemented their place in my pantheon of Taliswomen. The honesty with which they addressed the unraveling of their show impressed me deeply.

They took responsibility for things that lesser people would deny — internal questioning and processing that could have been omitted. They made me feel safer about owning my own truth.

They are my Talisperson, and I thank them.

--

--

Leah Welborn
The Shortform

Empower Your Magical Self with me. I'm the Mystic Autistic, a writer and spiritual baddie. LeahWelborn.net.