Life in Middle Age

Sunny Sun
The Shortform
Published in
1 min readJan 20, 2024

--

Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

As the clock ticks, I found myself standing at the crossroads of middle age. The words of writer Wang Xiaobo resonate deeply: “In middle age, you realize family is everything. When work and life get you down, home is where you find peace — your last sanctuary.”

When I was young, I used to be sensitive to others’ judgments. But now, I’ve learned not to dwell on external opinions. Focus on work during office hours and let it go afterward. Whether people say good things or bad things, just let it be. I always remind myself that I might be nobody to others, but I’m a significant part of my loved ones’ world.

For me, becoming the anchor for my family brings the greatest fulfillment. Ensure my wife is happy, spend enough time with the kids, and care for my parents’ well-being. These are things that truly matter.

--

--

Sunny Sun
The Shortform

I am full stack developer. Love coding, learning, writing. Checkout my NestJS course: https://shorturl.at/cpJM7, visit my blog https://coffeethinkcode.com