Lily Tomlin: Woman of Many Faces

A Taliswoman Short

Leah Welborn
The Shortform

--

Original Artwork by the Author.

The first time I saw Lily Tomlin, she would have been sitting in a huge chair, and I wouldn’t have understood exactly why.

But that wouldn’t have been the only confusing thing about her to me then.

I was born at the end of 1972, so when I saw her playing 5 (and a half) year-old Edith Ann on Laugh-In, it would have been in reruns, and I would have been a toddler myself, so the whole thing was understandably perplexing to me.

She wasn’t like the other women I idolized then, not buxom and spangled with big, teased hair. But she fascinated me nonetheless.

In the intervening decades, I’ve watched her create astounding characters on screen & stage while (to my knowledge) keeping her privacy intact.

For that, Lily Tomlin is one of my Taliswomen.

--

--

Leah Welborn
The Shortform

Empower Your Magical Self with me. I'm the Mystic Autistic, a writer and spiritual baddie. LeahWelborn.net.