Machu Picchu: The Crown Jewel of Peru

I was left breathless…

Noah Q
The Shortform
1 min readNov 3, 2023

--

Machu Picchu, Peru. Image taken by author.

If I could describe my experience at Machu Picchu with only one word, it would be “magical”.

As beautiful as any image I’ve seen, this ancient wonder offered picturesque views of the Andes. Mountains that were lush green and gargantuan surrounded me, perfectly concealing the ancient Inca citadel from the Spanish Conquistadors of the 1500s. I felt protected, as did the inhabitants who once lived here.

I admired everything I saw: the beautiful scenery, huts made out of stone dry walls, man-made terraces that were once used for farming and even the alpacas that live in harmony amongst the tourists.

As I walked through this Ancient Wonder, I felt a sense of mysticism and euphoria that caused this stoic individual to become so emotional. The beauty that I witnessed that day will forever be etched into my memory.

--

--

Noah Q
The Shortform

Canadian focusing on minimalism, frugal living and solo travel. A college prof once told me my writing is “really good”, so here I am