Me Against You

No, not you, the reader; yeah, you there, in the mirror.

Mich Chow
The Shortform

--

I’m born in the zodiac year of the monkey, so this photo is perfect for me. Photo by Andre Mouton on Unsplash

I’m a pretty competitive person by nature, but only when there’s someone else to compete with.

Naturally, “getting 1% better everyday” doesn’t exactly work wonders for me, because I’m competing against myself.

Which isn’t great, because we all know the only worthwhile competition in life is to outgrow your past self.

But…

Because it’s much easier to forgive yourself than to forgive others, I often find myself finding excuses and slacking off.

So I’m trying out a new mind game with myself.

Viewing my past self as a literally different person.

This way, I’m tricking my mind into thinking I’m in competition with someone else. No excuses, no slacking off.

And I love to win.

--

--

Mich Chow
The Shortform

An ex-coffee binger and a recovering procrastinator. This is where I process my curiosity.