My Autistic Nephew

He is cool in a special way

Grace Thomas
The Shortform
1 min readJun 11, 2023

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I noticed that he was special way before his parents were aware of it. I had children a few years before them, so I knew what to expect in children’s development by age.

The truth was, I’m scared when I saw the autistic traits begin to appear.

Other family members kept on denying it, but I knew what I saw. He checked all the boxes.

He is a handsome 6 years old now and talented in arts. He loves drawing and can even memorize every detail of a picture that he likes.

He meant every word when he say I love you. He loves to eat cakes, hopefully, he likes to brush teeth too.

Human beings like him need to be protected at all costs for their innocence.

I like him. He is weird. He is cool, in a special way.

--

--

Grace Thomas
The Shortform

I like to talk to myself, inside the car, while driving. Thus, I think it would be best to share my thoughts with everyone.