My Failed Resolutions of 2023

Three methods for addressing the inevitable fate of new year’s intentions

Shanti Bright Brien
The Shortform

--

Photo by Quinton Coetzee on Unsplash

Last year I resolved to rollerskate. I saw myself under swirling lights, singing along to Careless Whisper, gliding around the rink. I vowed to develop a TED talk and publish two articles. I failed at all of these. I never even bought the skates.

I deal with each defeat differently.

  • First, the “oh-well” method. Roller skating sounds fun; I loved it as a kid. But I had other types of fun in 2023, like dancing to the Fleetwood Macramés and riding an e-bike. I met the vibe of the resolution, if not the exact wording.
  • I use the “roll over” method for the TED Talk. I will roll that into 2024, practicing perseverance and optimism.
  • The article failure I will “re-frame.” Although I wanted to publish in traditional magazines, several articles were in Medium publications; a sort-of win.

Here’s to skating more in 2024!

--

--

Shanti Bright Brien
The Shortform

Author of Almost Innocent. Lawyer to criminals, mother of mayhem, daughter of cowboys and Indians. Champion of equity and fairness.