My First Writing Nightmare

John Couper
The Shortform
Published in
Jan 10, 2022
Photo: John Couper

Remember when you started writing?

In 1955 our second-grade teacher, Mrs. Taylor, asked my class to write a story that we’d show to a local writer.

I wrote and drew “Dina Saur and the Triceratops Trio”, inspired by then-popular singer Dinah Shore. I fell in love with writing.

When the visitor came to our class he enthusiastically told me “I really like your story.”

My pride swelled. Then, disaster.

“I know you’ll be an author!” he added.

I was horrified. When I arrived home, dejected, my mother asked about my day.

“Terrible. I’ll NEVER write again!” She asked why, but I wouldn’t say.

After refusing to write for the next month, I finally explained.

“He said if I write, I’ll be an Arthur. My whole class hates Arthur!”

Happy holidays, and please share your own early writing experiences here.

--

--

John Couper
The Shortform

Retired professor, global traveler, writer, photographer, dreamer, general nuisance.