DAY 9 OF THE 30-DAY WRITING CHALLENGE

My Self-Worth

What makes me smile today

--

‘Mindful time on the English Channel,’ photograph was taken by the author’s wife.

We all had our vices, mine was allowing work to take over my life, at the expense of family.

I say had because if there’s any positivity to be found from becoming disabled, then mine is that giving up work, opened up a long-ago forgotten, family life.

After being medically forced to give up my ‘membership of the rat race,’ realization dawned suddenly💡!

Often twelve-hour shifts, 4 to 5 times per week, I had no life outside psychiatry…

Nowadays, I relish days with my wife on our local beach, enjoying sea views, and witnessing wildlife in its home environment.

Whenever I want

For the first time in countless years, I feel a real sense of what ‘being alive,’ truly means😊.

--

--

Jonathan Townend, RMN - Editor - Friend of Medium
The Shortform

Psychiatric Nurse Writer. Owner of Creative Passions, The Shortform, No Shame, World of Fiction publications, and co-editor for The Chocolate River.