New Spirit, Renewed Mind: Beating Depression with God

Cheryl Watson
The Shortform
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2024
Bermix Studio on Unsplash

For years, I was trapped in depression. Medications, at times, did mask some pain and suppress my emotions. I was still disconnected from true peace.

After carefully weaning off medications , I faced intense anxiety from the effects of wrong thinking.

Our bodies, designed to know God, were never meant to harbor such darkness.

However, as I cooperated more with Holy Spirit, He led me through a transformation.

God revealed my true identity to me: I am a new creation in Christ.

In Christ, I am complete, eternally safe, and new. The new way has come; the old way is gone. Embracing this truth has brought profound peace and joy. I am everything in Christ, and through Him, I have everything I need.

The old self, prone to depression, clinging to ineffective coping mechanisms, is gone.

--

--

Cheryl Watson
The Shortform

The Happy Christian. Growing in the Grace and Knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.