New Year In September — Why Not?

Barbara Mac
The Shortform
Published in
Sep 16, 2022
Sparklers saying 2022
Photo by Kenta Kikuchi on Unsplash

Remember New Year 2022, perhaps vaguely, through an alcoholic haze?

I made resolutions.

Did you?

Do you remember what they were?

Did you keep them?

I was thinking about my New Year resolutions, which I’d mostly forgotten. I wondered if I could do in 12 weeks what I failed to do in 12 months.

While we celebrate the start of the year on January first, it traditionally began with the northern hemisphere winter solstice on December 21st.

September 21st is the equinox. From then till solstice comes again is just 13 weeks. Perhaps this is a more realistic time frame for resolutions, a concentrated burst of effort to end the year.

I intend to dust off those New Year resolutions and give them my best shot for 13 weeks.

Want to join me?

--

--

Barbara Mac
The Shortform

Exploring the human experience on this beautiful, fragile planet hurtling through the universe.