No More Second Chances

Because you deserve none

Hima
The Shortform
1 min readJul 18, 2024

--

Photo by Claudia Schmalz: https://www.pexels.com/photo/romantic-woman-holding-hand-on-anonymous-boyfriend-giving-flower-at-lakeside-5871170/

Same old, Same old

Have you ever been told -

“You never gave me a chance.”

“Please give me one chance, and I’ll make it up to you.”

“I’ve changed. I’m not the same person I was.

I have.

I’ve extended second, third, and sometimes, even hundredth chances, only to be repeatedly let down.

Not anymore!

The Irony

What else would you call it when someone who hesitates to offer even first chances has to face disappointment?

Let’s just accept it: life can be a bitch, and even those with super-high standards can succumb to false promises.

Realizations

Here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. Second chances disappoint like pathological liars.
  2. People change when they want to, some never do.
  3. Something is “never” better than nothing.

My New Rule?

It’s simple: Once you show your true colours, I won’t repaint them.

Have you given second chances?

How did it turn out?

--

--

Hima
The Shortform

Writer || Solo traveller || Tarot Reader || I think profoundly and feel deeply; that's what I write about.. Here' my blog - https://explorative-soul-hima.com/