Pictures Into Stories

Writing is doing something wonderful for my relationship with my son

Alison Burton
The Shortform
1 min readMar 31, 2023

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

When my son was little, we would spend hours together drawing. Not coloring, drawing. I hate coloring. It’s for people to stay in the lines both literally and metaphorically. So, we drew. From scribbles to faces, to trains, hunched over a small toddler table.

For years drawing was a constant. In the loft there are drawing books full of superheroes, Jedi, and footballers. Then the teen years hit, and it was another thing consigned to childhood memories.

Recently I’ve taken up writing. I told my teen about Medium and he was interested. He’s been asking about what I’ve been writing, and today he asked if we could write together.

So here we are, sitting around the kitchen table. Him, planning a steampunk novel and me writing this, the creative bond started years ago running strong for a little longer.

--

--

Alison Burton
The Shortform

Professional strategist, amateur everything else. Writing about a few of my favourite things: wellness; music; parenting; philosophy; books and strategy.