Superpower of A Memory

Shay
The Shortform
Published in
Mar 27, 2022

An antidote to negativity

Photo by Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

I sat there with my back towards the sea, looking at the lagoon that formed a pool, shimmering in the full-moon night. The reflection of coconut trees and the rickety beach hut in which I had taken shelter for the night, swayed with the ripples in the pool. I was immersed in hearing the rhythm of ocean waves.

He sat a foot away from me. We both were lost in our individual nothingness.

An impossible dream, a memory.

I pull it up from my mind’s drawer when things sometimes get tough in real life. It helps me power through the hard part, keeps hope alive. If I were in Harry Potter’s world, this would be what my Patronus charm would be made of!

Such is the power of a beautiful memory, like a summer breeze on a stuffy night.

--

--

Shay
The Shortform

Storyteller, Humorist, Feminist, Mom, Yoga fan, Corporate worker. Dancing the tango between left and right brain. Reach out to me at sayanide1984@gmail.com